Top 5 Fantasy Books to Read in Fall 2019

Hello, dear readers! It’s been a while since I posted but I plan to be regular this October. The hiatus has been a good refresher for me and I missed blogging a lot. However, I will be on hiatus again from November onwards for reasons that are still under wraps. Let me just say that exciting things will be coming your way in 2020 and I will be working towards that during my hiatus. Anyway, today I decided to post a few recommendations for the fall season. So far it’s been raining unseasonally and is almost as hot as summer when the skies are clear where I live. However, all weather is reading weather, so get ready to add these books to your TBRs!

Top 10 Books to Read in Fall 2019 | Nandini @ Unputdownable Books (post graphic image)

1. Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim

A recent favourite of mine, this hot new release from last season made quite a splash in the book community and for good reason. An adventure story filled with sorcerers, romance, pretty dresses and magic, it is the perfect book to curl up with on a rainy day. The beautiful cover also gives me a fall vibe because of the earthy yellow shade.

Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim | Nandini @ Unputdownable Books (book cover)

2. Shadow of the Fox by Julie Kagawa

It’s a crime that the second book in the series has been out for a while and I haven’t picked it up but this is a firecracker of a first book. Fast-paced and based on Japanese mythology, it follows half-kitsune Yumeko as she journeys across the land of Iwagoto with a piece of a powerful scroll with evil pursuing her every step. The gold details and the gorgeous deep red on the cover make it a perfect fall book.

Shadow of the Fox by Julie Kagawa | Nandini @ Unputdownable Books (book cover)

3. Beneath the Citadel by Destiny Soria

This is a special one as it’s the only standalone in the list. I read it recently and was pleasantly surprised by how quickly I finished it, so I would totally recommend it for a cosy reading evening. It has a unique concept where a ragtag group of teenagers try to bring down the centuries-old government who can foresee their every step and the twists definitely had me on hooked.

Beneath the Citadel by Destiny Soria | Nandini @ Unputdownable Books (book cover)

4. Girls of Paper and Fire by Natasha Ngan

I’ll admit this book doesn’t quite fit the fall aesthetic as much as the others but the sequel is coming out next month, so this is the best season to get started on this wonderful series. The F/F romance is heart-warming and will lift up your spirits on the gloomiest of days. It’s got brave girls, evil demon kings and a fantasy world based on South-East Asian folklore.

Girls of Paper and Fire by Natasha Ngan | Nandini @ Unputdownable Books (book cover)

5. The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi

The fall season brings to mind decadence and this book is the perfect embodiment of that word. This is a rich historical fantasy with a found family that will melt your heart. While it has an exciting plot filled with heists and magical artefacts, it also offers up commentary on colonialism and features characters of colour in prominent roles.

The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi | Nandini @ Unputdownable Books (book cover)


Let's discuss (blog graphic)
What books are you reading this season? What new fall releases are you looking forward to? Are you a seasonal reader? Let’s discuss in the comments section below.

Pin it for later!

10 best books to read in fall 2019 | Nandini @ Unputdownable Books

10 thoughts on “Top 5 Fantasy Books to Read in Fall 2019

  1. shanayatales

    I am not a big fantasy reader, even though – ironically – some of my all time favorite books are fantasies!

    I might check out Gilded Wolves from this lot, because I have read a middle grade fantasy by the author & that was fun, so I feel like I might like this one too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment