Discussion – How Big Is Your Bookshelf?

Often times when I state the fact that I’ve been reading since I was a kid, people tend to assume I have a great library back home. When I mumble something about e-books and using the library as a schoolgirl, I find that I myself am not convinced. I see bookworms on YouTube, the blogosphere, Twitter and Instagram (which I’m not involved in, but I see pictures shared elsewhere) and I start to feel incredibly guilty (also jealous) that I don’t have beautiful hardcover books (plus props, great backgrounds, lighting and an excellent camera) to share with the world. This post is all about me grappling with those feelings and coming to terms with being the kind of book lover who doesn’t own a ton of books.

Bookshelf Discussion

The problems of having a book buying habit in India are several. First and foremost is the sheer cost of books. Any decent hardcover book is available from Rs. 1000 upwards. (Let me give my foreign friends a minute to digest that.) Second, many of the easily available books abroad are either hard or impossible to find here, unless they happen to be extremely popular. That means most of the books I want are imported editions and I may have to ask people living in the UK or US to get them for me (I say that as if I don’t painfully shy away from doing so, but you get the idea). Third, and possibly what is the most saddening of all, is that Book Depository does not ship to India. I’m not sure why because I got to know that they used to before. This also means I’m automatically ruled out from so many amazing giveaways and it just breaks my bookish heart. Another problem that is specific to me is that I like to buy brand new books and have a collection of my own rather than go to second-hand bookshops even though that is a cheaper option. With all these constraints in mind, let me take you through my relationship with buying books.

tumblr_mdnd821gfy1qzkwwu

I didn’t realise I had a book buying addict inside me till I was introduced to the world of book blogging and BookTube. I was quite content with a bare minimum shelf which had some textbooks in one corner and a few books that I had read (mostly bought by my parents). My own grandmother, on the other hand, had (and still does have) a small room upstairs filled with a big bookshelf overflowing with books from her era. I don’t know why that didn’t spur me into action immediately. There was no habit of getting pocket money when I was a child, and we almost never went out to a bookstore, so I think I didn’t get the urge to spend all my fortune on it. Also, I perhaps internalised the thought that collecting books meant getting old, musty tomes and stacking them up while considering retirement. Never have I been so wrong in my entire life!

giphy2

With all the benefits that come with a new job, I suddenly found I had more money than I had ever dreamed of spending. Which is why I promptly went on two shopping sprees on Amazon and got myself a few of my favourites that had discounts on them (some as less as 2%, but let’s gloss over that and also pretend my mom didn’t scowl at me when the packages arrived). This growing habit is becoming quite difficult to rein in because every time I see a pretty book, my brain automatically goes, “You need that book in your life.” But I know from watching several unhauls that doing so will make me run out of bookshelf space very soon. Since I’ve never had the habit of buying everything in sight, I’m capable of controlling my impulsive self, but it only works sometimes. So, as is to be expected from me, I have a plan worked out.

tumblr_mpt3lritpb1szx1oxo1_500

The way it works is that I’m first going to buy all my childhood favourites and books I’ve read and absolutely loved (i. e. no less than 4.5 stars) in hardcover (more priority if the cover is pretty). When I strike those off my list, I’ll seek out every book written by my favourite authors regardless of whether I’ve read them previously and I’m also considering collecting different editions. (Hmm, I don’t know, like Tolkien?) Then I plan to buy the classics I enjoyed in gorgeous new editions because I feel no bookshelf is complete without them and, since most are now available in public domain, I can read them to decide which ones I like before splurging on them. Since I’m a very loyal reader, I’m simultaneously going to buy books to support the authors whose works I feel deserve more attention or some of my friends from the blogosphere and elsewhere who will get published some day. Oh, but do note that I do not permit borrowing because I want my darlings to be in pristine condition and I don’t trust anyone but me to handle them properly.

f48e6455b4d65310fd56b05e8b9cfc1238d69622_hq


Comments

With that glowing compliment from Dr. Watson, let me wrap this up. What do you make of my plan? Do you have a plan for buying books or is your style more impulsive? How much space is available on your shelves? Let me know all of that and more in the comments section below. Have a lovely weekend, readers! πŸ™‚

15 thoughts on “Discussion – How Big Is Your Bookshelf?

  1. I’m not going to lie. If I had the money and the space I would buy tons and tons and tons of books. I like having them around to read and to look at. I have a lot of memories attached to certain books, such as reading them in high school or college or getting them while I was doing an internship or whatever. And I do own a decent amount of books, thanks to cheap secondhand purchases, required school reading, blogging, and gifts. (So I guess I own a lot of books but *spend* a lot less on books than many people assume. I actually use the library a lot, and most of what I post on Instagram is library books, as well.)

    I found moving out of my parents’ house really helped me cut down on books, though. I didn’t count, but I probably donated about 200 books I had acquired somehow or other. Shipping them was going to be expensive, and I was moving into a small apartment that didn’t have much room for them anyway. I took a really hard look and asked myself whether I even liked the book, whether I would ever open it again, whether I would even bother to recommend it to someone else to read. If the answer was no, I donated it. I tried to keep books I liked, might read again, or had some sentimental attachment to. And I try to approach buying books this way too. I don’t buy books because I want to *read* them; I buy them if I think I actually want to *own* them.

    So I think your approach is good. Buy books that are special to you first.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for sharing your story, Briana. πŸ™‚ If I need to get rid of books at a later stage, I’ll be sure to follow your guidelines. Your decision makes a lot of sense. I am aware that most of your books are borrowed from the library. If I had a good library around, I would’ve done the same. But there are some books that are must-haves for me because I’m sure I’ll want to re-read them or recommend to others (or give them to my children?). I’ve decided to spend only on those books.

      Like

  2. Sounds like a good plan! I don’t own many books, and get most of them from the library. It’s cheaper. πŸ˜€ But I do sometimes wish I had a big beautiful bookshelf filled with my favorites. Maybe one day… πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I understand. Even I didn’t have the resources to buy until I started work. The libraries around here are very basic, so I don’t have the privilege of borrowing the books I want to read. I’m curious to know what books your future bookshelf will contain. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I love your plan! I hadn’t bought a lot of new books before I started my blog but ever since I did.. It’s gone through the roof! I simply had NO bookcases my entire life, until I lived with my boyfriend for six months. Then I simply decided to buy two. TWO. And they were somehow, immediately filled up? So I then decided to get rid of all my Dutch books, since I enjoy reading in English way more. I suddenly had a whole lot of space to fill, haha.
    Now?
    Let’s just say I need a third one and it would be filled immediately. I’ve been buying way too many books. From hyped books to books that just have a pretty cover to books I read the eARC of and simply NEEDED to own.
    I guess I have a book buying problem?
    [FairyLoot subscription: not helping either..]

    Liked by 1 person

  4. XD I love your plan, Nandini. And I wish I could join you in it… except that I’ve reached the point where I have WAY too many books. In fact, they no longer all fit on my shelves. Many of my unread ones sit in small stacks on my bedroom floor. That’s in addition to the TBR tower next to my reading chair.

    Yeah. It’s bad. (*blushes*) And since I alternate between new books, older books, and “market research” books for my WIP as I read, I recently realized that I won’t have enough time to fit in all of the 2017 books I bought this year.

    So… yeah. Next year I’m going to be much more selective about how many books I buy. :S

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sure you’ll come up with a plan to get that under control next year. Or not, because who needs space when you can have more books instead? πŸ˜‚
      I feel like I won’t be able to finish my 2017 reading goal either, but most of the books are in eBook format or audiobook, so there’s no space constraint for me. But I am sad that I can’t finish them all. πŸ™ So I do sympathise with a part of your 2017 TBR problem.

      Like

  5. Pingback: The Handwriting Challenge | Sara Letourneau's Official Website & Blog

Leave a Reply

