Book Review – Gemina

Title: Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)

Author: Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Genre: YA sci-fi

Published: By Knopf Books for Young Readers on October 18th, 2016

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

gemina-by-amie-kaufman-and-jay-kristoff

Summary

(adapted from Goodreads)

Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.

Thoughts

You know how sometimes sequels live up to and exceed your expectations? Gemina is one such book. I listened to the audiobook again for this one and it was just as fabulous as Illuminae was. However, I followed with the ebook this time around and the experience gets an A++ from me. (What do you mean that’s not a real grade?)

The story follows different main characters and I found them a tad more relatable than in Illuminae. Hannah was my favourite throughout, although Nik grew on me.  I’m extremely proud of myself because I saw one of the plot twists coming. I wouldn’t call it predictable but I was especially trying to work things out in this because the ones in the first book took me completely by surprise. However, the rest knocked my socks off anyway and at no point in the book could I ever imagine where the story would go. The book initially was slow and it took me time to get into it because it spent time establishing the status quo. From the inciting incident, the book runs off at a frantic pace, which makes it unputdownable. The formatting of the book follows the style set by Illuminae and it’s a treat to look at the pictures, learn about the characters through IM chats and journal entries.

Read the full review here.

Recommendations

If you like addicting, fast-paced stories set in space that will take over your life, you need to get your hands on this series. Again, I went with the audiobook, so I’m not going to recommend actual music. This was as good as Illuminae, if not better, so I’d recommend listening to the narration itself. For the food, think of the most bold and “out-there” flavour you want to taste and bring it with you for the ride.

Links

Book: Goodreads | Amazon | Website

Authors: Amie’s Website | Jay’s Website | Amie’s Twitter | Jay’s Twitter


Comments

For those of you who have continued on with the series, what did you think of Gemina? How excited are you for Obsidio now that the cover is revealed? If you haven’t read this series yet, do you wish to pick it up? Let me know in the comments section below.

10 thoughts on “Book Review – Gemina

      1. You’ll manage, I’m sure, because books are precious little snowflakes. 🙂 I ordered a bunch that came yesterday and I’m planning to move to a new place next month, so I’m worried as well. We’re in the same boat, mate!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

