The Read-A-Thons Wrap-Up

It’s the final day of BookTube-A-Thon today! With a heavy heart, I’m going to say goodbye to the two wonderful read-a-thons (FYI, that’s BookTube-A-Thon and Summer Biannual Bibliothon) that helped me get through seven books in a week. This is a personal record for me. Although I tailored my TBR to complete all of the reading challenges, I read five new books and had the best time as I loved all of them. In this post, I bring you some fun stats as well as mini-reviews and talk about my reading experience.

Wrap Up

Re-Reads

The Magic by Rhonda Byrne and Quidditch Through the Ages by J. K. Rowling were re-reads for me. I must say that I gleaned new insights from the former, which has spurred me to change little things in my daily routine. I also want to purchase a journal so I can write my innermost thoughts, inspired by it. The second book was one I hadn’t enjoyed much the first time I read it. It is quite dry and academic in its style. However, on my re-read, I discovered that it could be witty as well in places and the illustrations were a welcome relief from the text. I breezed through it within an hour. I changed my rating for this from 3 to 4 stars after this re-read. Also, I picked this book for the “read a book outside” challenge of BookTube-A-Thon and I really did enjoy the wind in my hair.


Mini Reviews

1. City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare (3 stars)

I read the first three books of The Mortal Instruments series back in 2014 and have been playing catch up ever since. All of them were 3-star reads for me and this is no exception. I can’t say much without spoiling things, but I just can’t relate to any of the characters anymore. Simon was okay in the first three, but he seems changed in this. The Clary + Jace romantic tension is getting on my nerves. Can we just not be so angsty and lovesick all the time? I only love the Lightwood siblings now. However, I will continue with the series just to finish it.

2. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky (4 stars)

This did take me back to my high school days. Although I couldn’t relate to some of the things Charlie did or talked about, the introvert and bookworm in me could appreciate his thoughts. The way he saw the world, observed everything but was quiet about it, is very similar to the way I think. It was happy and sad, heart-breaking and heart-warming, funny and poignant at the same time. I didn’t quite expect to like this book as much as I did. I watched the movie right after but I felt like a lot was lost in translation.

3. Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire (4 stars)

This little novella introduced me to some of the most precious characters I’ve ever come across, especially Jack. It had a unique take on the usual fantasy tropes and it was such a refreshing read. There’s A+ representation in this as well. The plot was kinda predictable, according to me. However, since I enjoy character-driven stories a lot, I loved this book to pieces and I can’t wait to get to the other two books!

4. Flame in the Mist by Reneé Ahdieh (4 stars)

This was another book I enjoyed more than I expected to. It has quite a slow start, and despite what you may hear, is NOT a Mulan retelling. It just has a girl who dresses like a boy because of the way her culture treats women. It was such a great fantasy book with a rich and engaging setting, a plot that blew me away towards the end and complex characters. The female empowerment in this book as well as the conversations about gender issues and equality gets an A+ from me. I can’t wait to get my hands on the sequel because it ended on such an interesting note!

5. Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index (4.5 stars)

A book about a girl trying to move on from her sister’s death, it pulled me into it and I found myself unable to put it down around the 60% mark. It was an easy read and I finished it in a short while. It deals with heavy themes and I really liked the author’s treatment of these. The characters were realistic and layered, dealing with very real problems. I liked the sibling relationship, the friendships and even the romance in this one. I don’t read a lot of YA contemporaries, so I can’t really say how unique this is, but I enjoyed it a lot, and hence the high rating.


My Reading Statistics

Here’s how my reading went day-wise:

Reading Graph-1

Total number of pages read = 1498 (Of course I’ll round it off to 1500!)

Average number of pages read per day = 187.25

Total number of hours read = 28 (approx.)

Average reading speed = 53.5 pages per hour

Number of reading challenges completed = 7 (BiBib)  + 7 (BTAT) = 14 (All of them!)

Number of blog challenges accomplished on time = 5 (out of 7)

Number of Twitter sprints participated in = 0

I’m really happy with those numbers. I couldn’t do the Twitter sprints because my time zone is pretty early (GMT +5:30) and I usually read when I had no internet access, so I’m not mourning this sad statistic. I’ll just try to do them next time as they seem like fun.


I learnt a lot from these two events and I’m looking forward to the winter editions eagerly. I’ll be posting about how to make the most of these read-a-thons in a later post probably close to when these will happen again. Did you participate in any of the read-a-thons? What was your reading week like? How did July treat you? Let me know in the comments section below.

 

One thought on “The Read-A-Thons Wrap-Up

  1. Pingback: The Inspiration Circle – July ’17 | Pages That Rustle

Leave a Reply

