Summer BiBib Day #7 – Letter to a Character

The final day for the Summer Biannual Bibliothon is here! I’m feeling kinda sad that it’s over. It has really helped me put a dent in my TBR and I know I’ll finish seven books by the end of this week. I can’t believe I read that quickly but this community reading aspect has been a good motivator. I’m pretty sure I’ll be taking part in the Winter edition as well, especially if the blog challenges continue. I realised on Sunday that there were blog challenges on each day, so I was unprepared. Without dilly-dallying, let’s get to today’s challenge. This is hosted by Dylanthereader and here’s the description:

Today’s challenge is to write a letter to a character! This can be from your point of view, or a character’s! Do what you want!

BiBib Day 7

For this challenge I picked Charlie from The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. If you aren’t aware, it is written as a series of letters by Charlie to an unknown recipient. I thought it’d be fun to write back to Charlie from the POV of that person.

Dear Charlie,

I know I’ve never written back to you, but I finally picked up the pen today. I hope you’re doing well. Your letters stopped suddenly and I understand why. I wish you all the happiness in the world and hope you’re “participating” more, as you put it.

I’m sorry I never wrote back. Words failed me each time I read your letters and the emotions were too raw to make any sense of them. I’m sure you understand what that feels like. You also know I’m not as good as you at stringing words together.

I hope Sam and Patrick are well and that you’re keeping in touch with them. Is Sam your girlfriend now? How is good old Bob? I miss knowing all the finer details of your life and about those around you. Please tell your family that I send them my regards.

I have started college now and I’m feeling overwhelmed. There are so many people to meet and so many experiences to share. The parties here are pretty crazy, much more than the ones in high school. I guess that is to be expected from bunch of barely adults, but it still shocks me sometimes at how wild unsupervised kids can get. It is considered quite rude to stay in your dorm on weekends and I find myself escaping to my hometown often just to get some quiet time on those two precious days of the week.

Classes are good and I think I’ll major in something like Linguistics or English literature. Everyone says one always changes their mind as time progresses, but I’m pretty sure I’ll stick to mine. The college library is perhaps the best place in the world and I love spending time there. I even found an unconventionally pretty girl there one day. I go back every day hoping to find her as well as get some reading done.

I don’t want to make this letter too long and bore you with the littlest details of my life, so I’ll end it here. I hope to hear from you soon.

Love always,
Your friend


If you have read the book, what did you think of my letter? Which character would you like to write to? Let me know in the comments section below. Do come back tomorrow as I’ll be posting a wrap-up, which will contain how I’ve done on the read-a-thon challenges as well as how the month of July has been for me reading-wise.

Leave a Reply

