Summer BiBib Day #5 – Character Connections

I’m falling behind on this, but I’m going to get all of the challenges done anyway because I’m stubborn like that. I’m really not doing this to win any of the giveaways, I just like to challenge myself to blog consistently and post about books. If you’re new here, I’m doing all of the blogging challenges for the Summer Biannual Bibliothon and today’s challenge is hosted by Ashley from Inside My Minds.

The challenge: Discuss no more than two characters that you have connected with on a more personal level. And then pick a situation that the character was in and discuss what they should have done differently if you feel that they should have done something differently. It is possible that you don’t think a character should have done something differently.

BiBib Day 5

Okay, so for this one I picked Dimple from Sandhya Menon’s When Dimple Met Rishi. If you didn’t know, I’m an Indian and am constantly looking for YA books featuring Indian teens. This book had so many little things that are such an intrinsic part of my culture that I loved it to bits. I identified with both the characters in the books and I feel like I’m a mixture of both Dimple and Rishi. However, as I’m a girl who loves to deny my parents the pleasure of finding me the Ideal Indian Husband, I think I’m more Dimple than Rishi. This probably makes no sense until you’ve at least read the synopsis of the book, which you can check on out Goodreads. My review for the book can be found here.

Warning: Spoilers ahead!

There are several similarities that I can find between myself and Dimple. She loves coding and wants to go to college and pursue her passions rather than use that to up her “marketability” in the marriage madness that takes hold of parents as soon as an Indian girl reaches 18. It’s pretty much the same in my household as well. I’m 22 now and have finished my bachelor’s, so the pressure is much more for me. However, all I want is to do my master’s before all of the responsibilities settle down on my shoulders. It’s very hard to get my parents to respect my wishes and I completely understand what Dimple is going through.

It was great to see her grow and follow her parents’ wishes, but on her own terms. I wish everyone was lucky enough to fall in love with the guy their parents arranged for them. This book is pretty much an ideal situation but Rishi was the most adorable boy I’ve seen in YA contemporary, so no complaints there. The only situation where Dimple could have reacted differently was towards the end.

She loses the coding competition and blames it on Rishi as she feels she was distracted by their relationship and didn’t perform to the best of her abilities because of that. I’ve been through that before and although that sort of makes sense to me, I would never ever blame the other person because it was ultimately my choice. Dimple should’ve realised that Rishi didn’t force her to take things farther than she’d initially wanted to and had always wanted the best for her. That’s why I didn’t like that she broke up with him even though she knew she loved him. Then again, she was 17 and that kind of maturity is probably something I can’t expect in teens.


That’s a wrap for this post! Do tell me in the comments section below about the character you relate to the most in all of the books you’ve read and give me one similarity between you and that character.

Leave a Reply

